A step forward for the democratization of Mercosur

A step forward for the democratization of Mercosur -

Saturday night different political fronts unveiled its candidates for positions in Mercosur Parliament , also known as Parlasur.

This is the legislative body that Mercosur created in 05 to replace Joint Parliamentary Committee . This was composed of deputies and senators elected from the Legislatures of each member country. While it had been established with the goal of being an institutional space that reflects the will of the citizens, it had restricted the possibility to elect their representatives.

In December 05, countries that were part of signed organism Constitutive Protocol of the Mercosur Parliament . Through this document Parlasur, which would consist of deputies elected periodically by the citizens of each state was created.

As expressed in the different institutional declarations, Parlasur is "a common space in which pluralism and diversity of the region reflects and contributes to democracy, participation, representation, transparency and social legitimacy in the development of the integration process and its rules. "

by the time is not expected that this body can create binding legal rules. Previously, the Parliamentary Committee had been established as an organ "harmonizer" between the standards created by the Mercosur and the domestic legal systems of each country, although in the background played a purely consultative role.

Currently, Parliament Mercosur is competent in certain areas and aims to deepen the institutionalization of these areas within the space of South American integration. In the words of the current deputy Parlasur Julia Perié among these competencies are:

  • Active participation in integration commercial. It has the power to issue opinions on such rules, when sent by the Council of the Common Market, and those opinions should be sent to local parliaments, which have to give preferential treatment. Thus, the Parlasur has a central role to accelerate the adoption of rules of Mercosur, which contributes to the consolidation of the regional bloc in its commercial dimension.
  • A significant and specific role in protecting rights humans. As the Parlasur strengthen, their human rights reports on the member states of the bloc will have more impact and visibility.
  • A mechanism for receiving individual petitions, whether natural or legal persons, related acts or omissions of the organs of Mercosur.
During the first stage, these deputies would be elected the same way as in the Parliamentary Commission. It was determined that from 2011 states should regulate and call elections for this purpose. However, so far only Paraguay and Uruguay held ballots to elect their representanters in Parlasur.

Therefore, from October, Argentina will become the third country in the Mercosur to elect their representatives in the legislative body based in Montevideo, Uruguay.

The seats at stake

in October they should choose 43 deputies who represent the country in the Parlasur. Due to the federal structure of Argentina, each of the 23 provinces plus the Buenos Aires elect their respective deputies.

The remaining 19 positions will be chosen taking the entire country as a single district and define proportionally through the sostema D'Hont (the same used for national deputies).

Regarding the latter, each party or front presented a single list for the whole country. On the side of the Front for Victory, will head Jorge Taiana (who signed the creation of Parlasur in 05 when he served as chancellor) Agustín Rossi Teresa Parodi Daniel Filmus and Milagros Salas .

The front Let's change (alliance between PRO, UCR and Civic Coalition) also presented a single list where they propose to Mariana Zuvic Fabian Rodriguez Simon and Lilia Puig de Stubrin .

The front UNA alliance leading Sergio Massa and Jose Manuel De La Sota, has as head of list Jorge Vanossi , who will be accompanied by Carlos Zaffore and Monica Lopez .

on the side of the Front Progressives, payroll is composed of Juan Carlos Zabalza Cristina Calvo Hector Polino and Martin Hourest . While Federal Commitment go with the former governor of Santa Fe, José María Vernet.

On the side of the left parties, the New MAS posits Alcides Christiansen ; the Left Front presents two lists will face in the PASO, one led by Marcelo Ramal and the other the metrodelegado Claudio Dellecarbonara ; the candidate of the MST-New Left is Luciana Echevarria .

Regarding the district of Córdoba, the citizens of the province should elect a candidate proposed by different parties or alliances. They compete for this position: Jorge Lawson (Union for Córdoba) Nestor Roulet (Together for Córdoba) Haydeé Giri (Córdoba Podemos) and Ezequiel Peressini (FIT).

Next Post »